La Mer: Trois esquisses symphoniques

Debussy, C. (2014) La Mer: Trois esquisses symphoniques. BÄRENREITER VERLAG, Kassel, Germany.

[thumbnail of Description of Critical Urtext Musical Edition]
Text (Description of Critical Urtext Musical Edition)
Debussy_La_Mer_BV_Form1184_web.pdf - Cover Image
Available under License Creative Commons Attribution.

Download (814kB) | Preview


New documentary evidence uncovered and provided to Douglas Woodfull-Harris, editor for Bärenreiter-Verlag (Kassel, Germany), re changes the Swiss conductor Ernest Ansermet made to the score of Debussy’s orchestral masterpiece, "La Mer" (for its London première), with the composer’s approval. Assistance acknowledged in the Preface to the new Barenreiter scholarly and critical urtext edition of "La Mer" (evidence provided in August 2011; published by Bärenreiter, August 2014).

Publication Type: Other
Additional Information: “La Mer”, which is an impressionistic work through and through, was composed between 1903-1905. Debussy, however, refined this work up until at least 1913. These corrections are found in a score which Debussy gave to his wife as a present for her private library in 1913. The new scholarly-critical edition draws on several important sources previously unavailable to musicologists, resulting in an array of new readings and corrections. In addition, there are many changes, especially in terms of articulation and dynamics. This new edition includes the famous “fanfare” in Movement III, clearly marked in small print and brackets. This fanfare was excised in the 1910 reissue of the work, but was reinstated by a number of great conductors who knew Debussy, i.e. Monteux, Münch, Mitropoulos and Ansermet. They felt that the excision was a misunderstanding and that the fanfare was necessary for the structure of the movement. And so, the Bärenreiter edition presents the revival of a performing tradition which is committed to the fanfare. • New Urtext edition with numerous corrections in comparison to other editions • Important sources which were previously inaccessible have been taken into account • Score and orchestral parts in large format (25.5 x 32.5cm) • Score and orchestral parts with an impeccable, generous layout • Includes an informative introduction (Eng/Fr/Ger), facsimiles, source descriptions and a Critical Commentary (Eng)
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
Divisions: Academic Areas > Conservatoire
Depositing User: Jonathan Little
Date Deposited: 22 Dec 2016 14:45
Last Modified: 22 Dec 2016 14:45

Actions (login required)

View Item
View Item
▲ Top

Our address

I’m looking for